One Room Challenge…Week 5

You guys, I’m so on my game today!  I had this post written, with pictures taken on Wednesday… WEDNESDAY, a full 24 hours before this post was due.  Because, like I said, I’m totally on my game.

WRONG. I THOUGHT WEDNESDAY WAS THURSDAY.

The amount of stuff my brain gets wrong these days would be appalling…if I cared…about anything…at all…ever…other than finishing up this pregnancy.  I’m still looking for those maniacs who love this and actually glow. If you know any send them my way...I HAVE QUESTIONS.

moving along

6556d-orc-lp-blue-250x183

If you need to catch up:
WEEK 1
WEEK 2
WEEK 3
WEEK 4

good? GOOD?

moving right along

Last week I asked what you thought about rugs and I finally pulled the trigger on one, which one you ask? PATIENCE…actually scroll down like two scrolls:

uo rug

 

That’s right, surprising everyone including myself I ended up going for the 5 x 7 golden one from Urban Outfitters.

Things of note:

  1. Urban Outfitters is an oddly good source for reasonably price rugs.  For example the 8×10 version of this rug is less that $200, and there is a large selection.  I have never ordered from them because I’m not 20 and at coachella, but I’ll let you know on quality. It arrives today.
  2. I haven’t discussed the floor of this room because it was apparently much more important for me to rage about a fish tank, but the rug could fit a larger size in terms of measurement, however the room has floor vents in it that shouldn’t be covered by a rug as well as intake vents that jut out from the baseboards.  So the smaller 5 x 7 rug is a more ideal size for whats visible and what doesn’t cover anything.
  3. Ideally I would have a seagrass or jute rug underneath, but I’d need one that’s 7.5 x 9 which is such a weird size and I only have so much patience for rug searching right now.
Next up:
Adventures in Gold-leafing (yes that’s a verb) a lamp with a billion (give or take) divets in it.

I had the gold leaf lying around from a project a few years ago, as well as THIS LAMP from pier 1.


The plan? To take my extra gold leaf sheets I had lying around and the tiny glue pen and cover the base making it gold.  THEN, covering the teal shade with black fabric, a la THIS tutorial , to produce a DIY version of this lamp:

apparently this lamp is almost $800 …. HAHAHAHAHAHAHAHA…sorry

 

 

Attempt one using above-mentioned technique:IMG_0016

Naturally, that technique was not going to last, so finally I just went and got some spray glue for $2.00, sprayed and used whole sheets on the sucker, creating a giant sheet of fly paper on my sunroom carpet as I went.

Additionally, I went into Ross and saw these gray shades for $9.00 and realized that I probably would be spending the same on black fabric, but with much less work! and the grey ties in the curtains.

IMG_0065
Plastic is still on in case I want to return

 

I also took the boob light down and am working on a easy “broke renter” fix, but for right now it looks like this.

IMG_0067

 

Finally, those dumb curtain hooks got a Hail Mary treatment when I put some pre-owned grey curtains up that match the lampshade.
IMG_0061

 

OH I FORGOT!  I went to the basement and went crazy looking the streamers from my Birthday Party from October.  I hadn’t put them away, there was a lot of people helping, so it took me forever to find them, but apparently the best storage container for paper streamers is a beer cooler… HUH.

IMG_0053

I’ve thrown them above the crib to try and get them to de-wrinkle and moved them in different patterns with painters tape to see what I like, but I haven’t made an decisions yet.  NO WORRIES. I gots a week!

IMG_0063

 

Last but not least…

Go check out the pros here:

 

The Ballers

 

and the other linkers. HERE!

signature

 

7 thoughts on “One Room Challenge…Week 5

  1. Definitely have to check out UO for rugs. Never would have thought about that source, but I love the one you picked out. Lamp looks great, too! Not sure how this is my first time seeing your room, but your post had me LOLing!

    1. Britt. It really is a good source especially if you don’t need a super large rug. Thanks for the comment and for checking in! I’m hoping next week it will come together and I won’t need as much snark 😀

  2. Love love the rug, can’t wait to see it in the room! The lamp looks amazing… now I’m wondering what I can gold leaf in my house this weekend (spoiler, it will be everything). I have ptsd from attempting moss covered letters for the wedding- true story, I adhesed my hand to my leg. Also are those ikea velvet curtains? if so, they are also in our master bedroom and I love them so. GREAT JOB!!

    1. Those are actually Target curtains! Although depending on my energy levels this weekend (dubious measurement) I might do something else with them. By the way you can never have too much gold leaf. It’s like the DIY version of cowbell

Leave a Reply

