One Room Challenge…Week 4!!

Welcome back for week 4 of the One Room Challenge!  Week one I unveiled my plan and all the pretty pinterest inspiration rooms I’m taking my own inspiration from,  Week two I showed you the pictures of the space for the nursery/guest room of which I was only slightly embarrassed by: pregnancy = TOO TIRED TO CARE PEOPLE!!  Week 3 I explained my brilliant plant to buy knick-knacks and decor to add to the space BEFORE trying to move everything around and painting it , CAUSE I’M A HOME DECOR GENIUS; and last but not least, this week I finally decided on a paint color and painted the room!!  I have almost narrowed down a rug, but we’ll get to that soon…but first , a lesson in how not to paint a room.

I wanted the paint colors to be appropriate for both a guest room and a nursery, good for sleeping and interesting.  If you remember some of my inspiration pics I really liked bold and color-blocked walls, and when deciding I kept coming back to these two images:

pink and black nursery, it's perfect &  Serene and Elegant Pink Bedroom and Calming Blue Bedroom

So in the end I went for it, a white and pink color blocked room.  How did I decide on which pink to choose?! through a complicated process, I will write it out for you in an easy to follow way though:

  1. go to pinterest.com
  2. search pink Sherwin Williams (my local paint store that was having a sale) nursery
  3. Find ones where the pink doesn’t burn out your retina
  4. google that paint color
  5. Purchase that paint color

I know, I’m so legit at home decor.

Sherwin Williams is 5 minutes from my house and was having a 40% off sale so I went out and purchased 4 samples, 2 whites, and 2 pinks and threw them up on three of the walls to see it in different light.

I was SURE I was going to like Angelic (top pink), but in the end we chose White Dogwood for the pink and the white (which was either just unpigmented paint the bottom white, or Snowbound, on the top) was Snowbound.

IMG_0010
Yes I’m aware they pretty much look the same.

We measured where we wanted the white to stop, which was loosely based on the top of the armoires in the room, and my husband went around painting  the top white section.  I OFFERED TO HELP I SWEAR, but teetering around with this belly and relaxin making me uncoordinated in a room filled with furniture gave him heart palpitations so he offered to do it all.

We painted past the measured color block line (we eyed it, not joking, I’m not sure I should be allowed to do home decor), let it dry, and then measured out where we wanted the pink to start 58 centimeters from the ceiling and add painters tape.

I then went down on all fours and did the trim (THANK GOD MY HUSBAND DOESN’T HAVE A SICK SENSE OF HUMOR AND TOOK MY PICTURE WITH GIANT BELLY, WEDGED IN-BETWEEN THE BACK OF THE BED AND PAINTING THE TRIM LINE ON THE FLOOR.  I totally would have)

IMG_0022

Finally I painted the pink on the bottom half of the walls and he finished by painting to the paint line.

If you google when to take the paint line off you find articles that say 10 minutes or 1 hour. THANKS GOOGLE FOR NO HELP WHATSOEVER.  So we decided to do it after 18 minutes.  Actually I forgot to take the paint tap off after 10 and my husband remember after 18. Again, I’M A PRO PEOPLE.  Also, I’m pretty sure I’m going to nail this parenting thing.

image6

IMG_0051

So that’s where we are!

Making a final decision on a rug… I’m looking at these options- your thoughts?

Don’t forget to check out people who know what they’re doing HERE ( I see you Swoon Worthy and you pink room with red rug) and other linkers who are way better at this HERE.

9 thoughts on “One Room Challenge…Week 4!!

  1. AMAZING JOB painting. And color selecting. I love it. And I don’t know why but I really like the yellow rug. Maybe because of the color of the bed? (which I want in my house right this second)

  2. You are so frickin funny! I love it! Love the wall colors. I know that if it was my room , I’d go with the overdyed pink one, regardless of purpose, because it’s perfect. But if you want it multi purpose I’d go with the yellow. I, too, have my eye on Swoon Worthy!

Leave a Reply

