People You Want On Your Kickball Team

Good Morning!

To be honest, most Monday mornings I’m still tired, I definitely don’t get enough sleep, and if I wasn’t so happy with my life I’d probably be more upset about this, but this weekend my little family went out-of-town and just relaxed.  So I’m super awake today and let me tell you, it is AWESOME. You guys, the sounds, the smells, the COLORS. whoa.

I thought today I’d follow-up last weeks post about sunscreen with one of my favorite green brands that goes hand in hand with post-sun skincare.  The company is fantastic, their story is touching, and they have one of my favorite everyday use products. You definitely want them on your kickball team.

The Brand?

cvskinlabs_logo

How does it ties in to Sunscreen?

One of their best products is their Rescue and Relief spray:

CVP_Rescue+Relief-Spray1-510x652
Spray on instant, cooling relief! Soothes itching, burning, irritated and inflamed skin. Guys, this is great on skin after shaving! Featured in US Weekly, People en Espanol, & Real Simple magazines.

To say this product is beloved is probably an understatement, particularly in the summer time….you know, to use it after you haven’t worn sunscreen that first actually sunny and hot day and you got burned…or when your skin is peeling from that first sunburn and is dry and itchy.  This product is so good it’s a favorite in and out of the green beauty scene.

CV has been featured in US Weekly, People En Espanol, Crazy Sexy Life, Refinery 29, Self.com, Telemundo, Well and Good NYC, Real Simple Magazine, Organic Spa Magazine,  and were even part of the Emmy swag vendor group. The brand is a favorite on all of my green resources as well, and most importantly…my skin lurve’s CV’s Calming moisture.

LEGIT. NO QUITTING.

So why do you want them on your kick ball team? so. many. reasons.  Here are the basics.

 

 

1. Britta, the owner? total Betty. NOW, attractiveness does not equate to worth, or experience, or knowledge; and she has all those things,  but it’s going to throw you off at first, like you talk to her and in your head you’re just like “Where do I look? I don’t want to stare, but I want to seem engaged, and I want to ask smart questions, so you don’t think that I THINK  that you’re just a pretty face, and I’m pretty sure my brother would marry you  in less than 5 seconds.”

Proof: 

2. Next, her story is amazing and gracious:  “Britta discovered her passion for promoting safe self-care through her experience as a caregiver during her father’s eight-year battle with cancer. A survivor of Hodgkin’s disease herself, she understands firsthand the devastating effects cancer and cancer treatments can have on the skin. When she tried products specifically targeted for “sensitive skin,” they were often laden with potentially harmful chemicals that actually irritated her father’s fragile skin. She became acutely aware of how devastating the side effects from drugs and medical treatments could be. Inspired and determined to help others, she founded Cinco Vidas in 2008, and dedicated her work to her father’s legacy.”

I KNOW RIGHT.

3. She’s an author who wrote about her experiences to reach out to others.  We often think of healthy skin care and makeup for ethical reasons, or for beauty purposes alone, but she reminds us that this type of industry is rooted in health

download

4. She has an incredible understanding of what people with cancer are going through that is both honest and insightful:

“I learned from the cancer community that we all need to be able to apply a natural cream or adjust our makeup routine and then go out into the world with our confidence intact…When our skin is erupting in a rash or our eyes are looking sunken because of medical treatments, those beauty techniques become even more important, as it’s when we are struggling under life’s most difficult challenges that we most need to nurture and support our own inner strength and self-esteem.”

This is incredibly poignant in understanding how beauty, confidence, and how you see yourself is important, and may seem superficial at times, but if it’s to strengthen yourself and inner-strength it’s a beautiful thing.

5. I can’t live without her Calming Moisture lotion.  I’ve mentioned it once before already, it’s in my favorites page,

This antioxidant-rich moisturizer calms redness and deeply hydrates while repairing skin to create a healthy glow. As seen backstage in NYC Fashion Week 2013.
This antioxidant-rich moisturizer calms redness and deeply hydrates while repairing skin to create a healthy glow.

I can’t shut up about when I talk to people, and it’s saved my husbands skin during allergy season.

I know people SAY they can’t live without it, but I’ve tried living without it, and it wasn’t pretty. My skin was like, “look…I get you…you’re trying other products..maybe you’re thinking haven’t found the best one, or the only one out there…but I’ve put up with this nonsense for about two weeks…shit’s gotta end, and just so you don’t think about switching again, extreme dryness and acne in 3…2…1…”

My skin’s kind of an a-hole.

needless to say, my skin drinks this up, I’ve never broken out no matter how much I put on, and I look healthy and glowing every time I use it on my face.

For me, I use this all over my face in the evenings before I go to sleep.  I double cleanse, tone, serum, and rub this stuff in.  Here’s the best thing, a little goes a looooong way. So I use this on average , 6 days a week and a tube will last me 4 – 6 months. YUP. but as I mentioned before you can put this on any irritated skin: chafed skin, raw skin for allergies, dandruff, sun burn, post treatment, etc.

While I mostly use her calming moisture, her skin balm is a green beauty cult product, particularly for the lips.  A great lip balm for overnight.

Her body products are very good too, I just sent a bottle to the moms for Mother’s day. BOOM.

Interested in trying out this brand?

GOOD.

I recommend the CV Skinlabs Try-Me Kit.  It’s $29.00 and you get three decent sized samples of the Calming Moisture, Skin Balm , and Body Lotion.

If you want to read more information, there’s a great interview over on Beauty By Britanie you should definitely check out.

Let me know what you think! and if you have to pick a kickball team member? Choose CV.

signature 2

2 thoughts on “People You Want On Your Kickball Team

Leave a Reply

