honey on my face

First things first, Thank you for all the support about how to talk to little girls in regards to makeup.  people in the middle east and Sweden read that….I don’t even know someone in Sweden. Does this mean I’m cooler? I vote yes.

 

Onto today’s topic!

What’s the one thing that hooked me on the green beauty?  Was it fancy mascaras, oils , or jet black face masks?

NOPE.

It was smothering honey all over my face.

Specifically Manuka honey.  One of the first things I tried was a plain manuka honey mask on my face.  The result was MAGICAL.  I didn’t mix any fancy oils or clays in it,  I just tried manuka honey 16 + on my face for 20 minutes, rinsed it off with warm water, and my face was smooooooooooooooooooooooooth, like buttah (not butter).

Not an uncommon face
WHAT IS THIS MAGIC?!

Also of note, I happened to have remnants of a pimple (I KNOW I’M NOT SUPPOSED TO TOUCH IT, LEAVE IT BRO) the night I first tried the manuka mask, I went to bed soon after I rinsed my mask off, woke up the next morning, as one does, looked in a mirror, and the spot had healed. a lot! BOOM.

I decided to do some more reserach on this magical product because why research something BEFORE you buy it. Do as I say, not as I do people. The more you know about Manuka Honey, the more you’ll love it. Here’s what you need to know:

  • Manuka means tea tree, but not THAT kind of tea tree:  Manuka is a unique type of honey created by European honeybees that frequent the manuka tree native to New Zealand (and portions of Australia).  The common name is Tea tree, but it’s not the tea tree you often see in skincare products. which is just dumb. could no one think of ANYTHING ELSE to name these trees and had to use tea tree?! Anyways…just stick to Manuka.
  • It’s loaded with great things for your skin and body: This mono-floral honey contains more vitamins, minerals, active enzymes, antioxidants and amino acids than other types of honey.
  • Manuka trees are only in New Zealand: While you can certainly use local honeys to clean and heal your face the Manuka plant contains natural natural antiseptic and antimicrobial properties unique to this plant.  These plants are protect and isolated in certain regains in New Zealand.
  • There is a range to how potent manuka honey is: its all based on some science, let me drop it on you; The major antibacterial component in manuka honey is methylglyoxal (MG).  MG is a compound found in most types of honey, but usually only in small quantities. In manuka honey, MG comes from the conversion of another compound — dihydroxyacetone — that is found in high concentration in the nectar of manuka flowers.  MG is what gives manuka honey its antibacterial power. The higher the concentration of MG, the stronger the antibiotic effect.  Honey producers have developed a scale for rating the potency of manuka honey. The rating is called UMF, which stands for Unique Manuka Factor.  The UMF rating corresponds with the concentration of MG. Not all honey labeled as manuka honey contains significant levels of MG. To be considered potent enough to be therapeutic, manuka honey needs a minimum rating of 10 UMF.  Honey at or above that level is marketed as “UMF Manuka Honey” or “Active Manuka Honey.”
  • It won’t spoil:  This is true of all honey, so if you get your manuka honey it will last until you want to finish it! YEARS…. not that you will wait that long to finish it.
  • Honey is has a low pH: The pH of 4.5  is said to help maintain the optimum pH of the skin, leaving your skin balanced and healthy  after using it.
  • Manuka honey is medical ingredient as well: It inhibits adhesion and invasion of medically important wound bacteria in vitro.
  • Bacteria cannot exist in Manuka honey. Suck it bacteria.  
  • Manuka honey is currently (and historically) used widely in wound care (see, the point directly above this)
  • Cleopatra used honey (and milk) in her beauty routine, and since we can’t stop talking about the lady just under 2000 years later, she probably was onto something.

 

organic_gold_manuka_16+-01Ok that was a lot of information to throw out at you, particularly the how MG/UMF/pollen range thing.  So here’s a simplfied version:

 

 

 

  • Manuka honey is amazing and you should cleanse your face with it. It will not take off your makeup. You need to oil cleanse first and then double cleanse with honey (YES I SAID DOUBLE CLEANSE. did you NOT read my Caroline post? PEOPLE).
  • You can use it by itself, as a mask, mixed with other products, but invest in it. All you need is a teaspoon on damp hands and rub it on your face It will also gently exofliate (thanks to the low pH) AND hydrate your skin. I use this once or twice a week as a mask, just a teaspoon.  I’ve had my last bottle for four months and probably have another 3 left in it.
  • It will heal the pimple you were picking at that you weren’t supposed to because you’re normal and I have never met anyone in my life who doesn’t pick
  • I’ve tried a few brands, but my repeat purchase/favorite is  Wedderspoon 100% Raw Organic Manuka Honey Active 16+
  • You can eat it, because why the hell not?

Where can you get Manuka Honey? There is a mix of boutiques and large suppliers that sell this powerhouse honey.  Check out the gallery for locations:

 

 SBL/EBB/AM/IHERB/W.COM/WF

If you’re interested in products WITH Manuka honey because it sounds awesome, these people know where its at, you can find these, and more information, on Pinterest:

 

 

Living Nature should get a special notice since their brand is dedicated to using Natural New Zealnd Products and the majority of them have Manuka honey, or oil in them!

Skin_Essentials_to_vitalise_normal_ski_1024x1024

 

Finally, to appease the scientist and fact checkers (YOU KNOW WHO YOU ARE) here is a link to 43.2 bazillion articles on the medical and health benefits of honey, including Manuka

 

Now go enjoy putting honey on your face and looking at everyone else like they’re insane?

*ALSO if you’re a yinzer check out Tula Salon, this month in celebration of their 2 year anniversary they’ve added Manuka to their facials!!!

 

signature 2

 

3 thoughts on “honey on my face

  1. Great post! Makes me way more confident in my own experience I’ve had with honey skincare! 🙂 It is MAGICAL!! I will never live without it!

    1. Renee, Honey truly is magical. You also may want to try living nature brand if you haven’t before. the whole brand is based on Manuka honey and manuka oil!

Leave a Reply

