Pretending I’m Trendy

Hola mis amigos (I’m practicing my spanish)

Yo soy una manzana…see! kicking butt!

Here are some truths for you:

1. I am not trendy,  You will never see me in any of these:

All are fun and awesome and can be a great fit for you...but not me.
All are fun and awesome and can be a great fit for you…but not me.

2. If you have painted nails you must hold them next to your face, if you don’t believe me just Google it:

nail on face pics

3. I really only wear two nail colors: a true red and a dark red/purple and my nails are short and fat and break often, which is annoying since I come from a woman with beautiful elegant hands and nails

My wedding day nails as proof
My wedding day nails as proof that my nails are short and fat, and am wearing one of two colors

This blog isn’t just about what I like though, so when I recently saw a post on Spring Nail trends from Harper’s Bazaar, I thought it’s something to address here:

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Naturally, I took this as a personal challenge.  Oh you’re going to try to get me to buy toxic stuff because it’s pretty and make money off me so you can lie around on your yacht.  I bet,  I BET, I can find these colors from companies that really do what toxic nail polish pretends to do: Put fun things on your finger nails without causing harm.

Guess what….?

Guess….?

Dude, play with me here…Guess?

BOOM. Found multiple options per shade (that’s me).

My gift to you: Green options for those trendy spring nail colors:

Royal Blue, both plain and sparkly:
Candy Apple Red
Hot Pink
Key Lime Green
Orange Sherbert
Plum
Robin’s Egg Blue
Lemon Ice Yellow

Not only that, but I found some ‘kids versions’ too, for those little greenies* in your life:

Since some of these companies are new to you (probably), here’s why they’re so great, and so much better than the toxics.

There’s more information AND companies on my pinterest page. (Seriously, if i didn’t stop at 5 this post would have been 45,000 words):

AquarellaAcquarella’s base solvent is water,which eliminates a lot of problems: an almost non-existent smell to make it completely possible for those with asthma or chemical sensitivities to use; conventional nail polish is HAZMAT!  Aquarella is non-toxicnon-HAZMAT and non-flammable. Aquarella is also a completely INFORMED company, don’t believe me just check out their ‘about’ page.  They even have a pre-made toxic vs. non-toxic comparison chart for you HERE.

Sheswai: Is truly eco, including its packaging. The wood caps are made from a sustainably harvested wood, reducing the use of plastic and are assembled by Willing Workers; a non – profit organization that provides job opportunities to adults with developmental disabilitiesThe formula is FREE of formaldehyde, toluene, and dbp’s. We are based in California & made in the USA.  Sheswai donates a portion of its profits to organizations that help sustain our the planet (ie: Nature Conservancy, World Wildlife Foundation, Heal the Bay, & among others).

Priti NYC:  PRITI NYC polishes are 5 Free & Vegan, completely non-toxic, and are free of toluene, dibutyl phthalate, formaldehyde, formaldehyde resin, and camphor – all known carcinogenic ingredients. These polishes are fast drying, chip resistant, contain a UV inhibitor, and are extremely durable and glossy. They are also completely safe for use on children and moms-to-be. Available in over 100 different shades,the brand regularly collaborates with other socially conscious companies and charities, including Donna Karan’s Urban Zen Foundation, Group for the East End’s Ecofabulous in the Hamptons, and Teens Turning Green to develop a private label polish exclusively for Whole Foods Market.

Kure Bazaar: A great line for on trend colors, Kure is a green favorite because of its 85% natural formula where the ingredients are natural origin based on wood pulp, wheat, cotton, potatoes and corn. You won’t have to compromise wear those, it lasts just as long as those toxic colors.

RGB: RGB The chip-resistant and high shine nail colors, contain no Formaldehyde, Toluene, DBP (dibutyl phthalate), Formaldehyde Resin, or Camphor. All RGB products are cruelty free, vegan, and made in the USA. ANother reason to love RGB? Their HIPPxRGB line.  It’s a line of nudes for women of all colors, so nudes for the light and pink skin tones and well as the darker and richer skintones.

Butter London:  While Butter is not the cleanest brand out there, it’s one of the best for on trend options, and being free of Formaldehyde, Toluene, DBP, phthalates or parabens.  Another reason to love Butter London?  Their CEO, President & Director. A WOMAN (Leslie Freytag) and their board is 50% women. BOOM.

**Other Brands not described, but included in this post: KeekiSuncoatScotch & Hopscotch Kids

*SHAKESPEARE! WHEAT GRASS SHOT!(if you have no idea what I’m referring to see the end of this post)

Now go on and have nails that are trendy, earth friendly, and body friendly too!

Sue sig - ventilla

4 thoughts on “Pretending I’m Trendy

    1. I hate it when that happens, and that’s good to know about Butter. Most of the information out there about clean nail polish is that it will look good, but not last due to lack of shoddy-but sticky ingredients. I DID find out about a gel nail polish that is eco friendly…and thank you for loving my blog. it (i) love you back

Leave a Reply

